Saw Ubuna

Elder Roe and I went on two companion exchanges this week. The second was in 思源 [Siyuan]. We had never switched companions with Siyuan missionaries before, because they were all sisters in the past. It was difficult to find a good way to swap companions, because the MRT route to Siyuan is very long and inefficient. It is much faster to bike over the river and along the river bank.

Elder Roe and I had an interesting time riding our bikes along the river and trying to find the appointed meeting place. We finally met beneath a gigantic concrete bridge spanning the river, and I rode with Elder Stevenson to 思源. It was a great exchange, although it was raining pretty much the whole time.

The scenic exchange locale.

Elder Roe and I had an amazing experience teaching a family who hadn’t been to church in months. I called them and set them up a week ago, but forgot to write them in my planner. When I was taking a shower that morning, I suddenly remembered the appointment, rushed out, and wrote it down.

My companion.

When we visited the family, they greeted us enthusiastically, and the mother told us, "It’s been a long time since we’ve been to church. We need to come back." We shared a message about Christ helping us to overcome challenges, and showed them a related video produced by the Church. By the end, all of them–mother, father, and three kids–were all crying. They told us about some of the medical challenges their youngest daughter had run into recently. Lastly, the father asked us to give her a blessing. It was a great experience. On Sunday, the whole family came, and the ward received them warmly.

I started reading the Old Testament in Chinese this week, after finishing the Chinese New Testament. There are many fascinating details I didn’t notice when I read the Old Testament in English. I think I might have skipped over the whole Noah-tent story.

Surprisingly, the Old Testament is relatively easy to read in Chinese, since it is written in fairly modern Chinese with hardly any archaic usage. The only difficult part is the many names, which are extremely difficult to remember and keep apart when transliterated into meaningless strings of Chinese characters.

That’s about all for now. Have a great week!

Love,
Elder Elliott

Standard

Leave a Reply

